Posted by: ssimms | November 11, 2008

Profile: Shannon Simms

Name: Shannon Simms
School, year: Harvard Graduate School of Design, 2010
Student group: GSD Green Design, Co-Chair
Hometown: Shippensburg, PA

Given unlimited resources and access to whomever you’d want, what’s one environment-related change you’d like to see at your school?

I would love it if the Harvard student body could connect the dots between issues of environmental sustainability and consumerism. Technology is one thing, but demanding less is another, more immediate impact that individuals can have on their own ecological footprints. I’ve never been as knee-deep in consumer culture as during my time at the GSD, and I would love to see that change. Recognizing the externalities that you’ve created in your own daily choices can really make a difference.

Earliest memory that made you realize, “yep, I care about the environment.”


I grew up on a farm in rural Pennsylvania and spent most of my childhood outside, catching frogs and turtles, wondering around in the woods, watching the seasons change. My earliest memories are of my deep love for this place, but that didn’t translate into environmentalism in my mind until much later.

What did you do on the night of the presidential elections?

I pretended to study for a test while hanging out with a crowd of friends watching the results come in. After Obama’s speech, I biked home through the hills of Somerville, and could hear the shouting and partying happening down in Harvard Square.

Responses

  1. […] on green buildings at Harvard 6:55 / 7 – Questions for the speakers 7:10 – GSD presenters: Shannon Simms and Dave Lewis on Green Design’s efforts 7:25 – Wrap up, reminder about next meeting (Dec 15) […]

  2. […] to Shannon Simms (GSD ‘10) and Karen McKinnon (College ‘10), the new coordinators of the Harvard Climate […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

